Lean Definition

Muda (Waste)

Muda are activities and results to be eliminated. Muda is often referred to as ‘The Eight Wastes’ and here at Clarity, we talk about TIM WOODS:

T – Transport – Moving people, products & information
– Inventory – Storing parts, pieces, documentation ahead of requirements
M – Motion – Bending, turning, reaching, lifting

W – Waiting – For parts, information, instructions, equipment
O – Overproduction – Making more than is IMMEDIATELY required
O – Over processing – Tighter tolerances or higher grade materials than are necessary
D – Defects – Rework, scrap, incorrect documentation
S – Skills – Underutilising capabilities, delegating tasks with inadequate training

There are two types of Muda that are literally called Type-1 Muda and Type-2 Muda. In both these types its something which fails to add value to the customer:

  • Type-1 Muda – these are non-value added tasks that are necessary for the system to function. You should minimise this until you can eliminate it completely
  • Type-2 Muda – these are non-value and unnecessary, these should be the first things you start to eliminate from your processes


Further reading on the Clarity Blog:

Contact us

Contact us

Get in touch and speak with a Visual Management Specialist to answer any questions you may have on our products, consultancy or business.

Enquire now

Book An Initial Consultation Today

Book An Initial Consultation Today

Is your business achieving its full potential? Clarity offers a proven approach to help your business achieve its vision. Book now!

Make appointment

Our brochure

Our brochure

To explore more about Clarity Visual Management, get a copy of our latest introductory brochure to learn more about our service.

View brochure


Receive our monthly e-bulletin containing information, news, ideas, promotions and case studies.

Contact Form
Click to Call
View Brochure